Corporations Elections Licensing Securities

Licensure by Examination


Licensure By Examination – Graduates of Traditional Nursing Education Programs

  • Graduates of Georgia Board of Nursing Approved Schools in the State of Georgia may apply for licensure online  or by submitting a paper application.
  • Applicants must submit the following information:
    • Completed application
    • Non-refundable application fee of $40.00
    •  Completed criminal background check
    • Any other additional information requested by the Board
    • Please note: Applicants who graduate from Georgia Board of Nursing Approved Schools in the State of Georgia are not required to submit transcripts as part of the application process.  Your nursing education program will submit the information to the Board electronically.
  • Applicants should register with Pearson Vue prior to submitting their application for licensure (www.pearsonvue.com/nclex). Applicants should apply for licensure and register with Pearson Vue using the same name.
  • Applicants should register with COGENT Systems prior to submitting their application for licensure (www.ga.cogentid.com)
  • Graduates of out of state nursing schools must apply for licensure by submitting a paper application.
  •  Applicants must submit the following information:
    • Completed application
    • Non-refundable application fee of $40.00
    •  Official college transcripts (Nursing education programs must meet the requirements of O.C.G.A. §43-26-2(1.2).
    • Completed criminal background check
    • Any other additional information requested by the Board
  • Applicants should register with Pearson Vue prior to submitting their application for licensure (www.pearsonvue.com/nclex). Applicants should apply for licensure and register with Pearson Vue using the same name.
  • Applicants should register with COGENT Systems prior to submitting their application for licensure (www.ga.cogentid.com).

Licensure By Examination – Graduates of  Non-Traditional Nursing Education Programs

  • Graduates of non-traditional nursing education programs as defined in O.C.G.A. § 43-26-7(e) must apply for licensure by submitting a paper application
  • Applicants must submit the following information:
    • Completed application
    • Non-refundable application fee of $40.00
    • Official college transcripts (Nursing education programs must meet the requirements of O.C.G.A. §43-26-2(1.2).
    • Official transcripts showing proof of graduation from a licensed practical nursing (with clinical training in pediatrics, obstetrics/gynecology, medical/surgical, and mental illness), paramedic or military medical corpsmen program
    • Completed criminal background check
    • Any other additional information requested by the Board
  • Applicants should register with Pearson Vue prior to submitting their application for licensure (www.pearsonvue.com/nclex). Applicants should apply for licensure and register with Pearson Vue using the same name.
  • Applicants should register with COGENT Systems prior to submitting their application for licensure (www.ga.cogentid.com).

By Georgia law, a Georgia Board approved preceptorship must be completed if educational and practice requirements are not met as required.  For additional information regarding who must complete a Board approved preceptorship please click here.






Contact

214 State Capitol
Atlanta, Georgia 30334
404.656.2881
E-Mail
© 2012 Georgia Secretary of State